Skip to Content

The Music Man

August 3, 2017 - August 19, 2017 MainStage Back to Shows & Events
The Music Man

Written by Meredith Wilson and Franklin Lacey. Music & lyrics by Meredith Wilson.
Follow fast-talking traveling salesman Harold Hill as he cons the townspeople of River City, Iowa, into paying for a boys' band that he has no intention of organizing. But when he falls for Marian, the librarian, his plans to skip town with the cash are foiled and a town is transformed.

Sponsored by:

Curtain Times

  • Tuesday - Saturday evenings: 7:30pm
  • Wednesday and Saturday matinees: 2:00pm
  • Sunday matinee: 3:00pm

Special Events

  • Join us for a Director's Talk 30 minutes prior to 7:30 pm curtain on 8/3 and 8/4; and 30 minutes prior to 2 pm curtain on Saturday 8/5.
  • Join us for a Talkback with the cast and crew on 8/6 or 8/13, immediately following the 3 pm Sunday matinee.

Creative Team

  • Director: Malcolm Ewen
  • Music Director/Orchestral ReductionLarry Pressgrove
  • Choreographer: Michael Raine
  • Associate Choreographer: Felicity Stiverson
  • Scenic Design: Howard C. Jones
  • Lighting Design: Stuart Duke
  • Costume Design: Kirche Leigh Zeile
  • Sound Design: Ed Chapman
  • Wig Designer: Dave Bova
  • Associate Music Director: Jake Turski
  • Production Stage Manager: Michele A. Kay*
  • Assistant Stage Manager: Danielle Zandri*
  • Stage Management Intern: Vanessa Ramon
  • Musicians: Larry Pressgrove conductor/keyboard, Jake Turski keyboard, TBA reeds, Joshua Pauly trumpet, Tom Jorgensen percussion


  • Harold Hill David Bonanno*
  • Marian Paroo Marissa McGowan*
  • Mayor Shinn Munson Hicks*
  • Mrs. Paroo Cass Morgan*
  • Marcellus Washburn Michael Mendez*
  • Eulalie Mackecknie Shinn Dorothy Stanley*
  • Charlie Cowell/Ensemble Jim Raposa*           
  • Ethel Toffelmeir Felicity Stiverson*
  • Jacey Squires/Salesman/Ensemble Allen Kendall*                             
  • Alma Hix Thursday Farrar*
  • Oliver Hix/Salesman/Conductor Roger Seyer*    
  • Olin Britt Daniel Leonard                                
  • Amarylis Margot Potter                                                          
  • Mrs. Squires Anne D’Olivo
  • Winthrop Paroo Sander Scott            
  • Ensemble Claire Mercier                                          
  • Band Members Willa Dana, Michael Leslie, Julian Pirie, Declan Seyer